Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба – Путеводитель

В прошлую субботу, мы присоединились к экскурсии в Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба. Возможно, вы догадались, какое отношение традиционный японский сад имеет к кибуцу Хефзиба.. Что ж, Японское религиозное движение Макуя основало этот небольшой и ухоженный сад..

Примечание: Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба - это частный сад., и посетить его можно только предварительно заказав тур. См контактную информацию ниже.


Предложения:

Booking.com

Макуя

Макуя, также называется Макуя Христа и базируется в Токийской библейской семинарии, это религиозное движение в Японии, основанная в 1948 по Айкеро Тешима. Чтобы понять внутреннюю истину библейской религии, или “Любовь Святого Духа” а Тешима ставит его, и превозносить эту экзистенциальную любовь, воплощая ее и живя соответственно, является сущностью Макуя.’ религиозная жизнь. Они задорно отождествляется с причиной Израиля, зачатие создание государства Израиль и объединение Иерусалима, по существу, исполнение библейских пророчеств.

Источник: Википедия

Как уже упоминалось выше, Члены Макуя являются христианами. Поскольку христианство происходит от иудаизма, они видят ценность в изучении иудаизма и изучения иврита, и одна из конечных целей, чтобы прочитать Библию на иврите. Они также видят первостепенное значение в развитии отношений с Государством Израиль..

Члены этого религиозного движения также определить с ценностями израильского кибуца движения. Это объясняет расположение сада..

Обычно, Члены Макуи ежегодно приезжают в кибуц на несколько месяцев., и изучают иврит в ульпан (институт или школа интенсивного изучения иврита).

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба был спроектирован Йохати Готто, художник-садовник и член Макуи, в 1975, в память об Икуре Тесиме (основатель Макуя).

Как я уже писал в начале, мы присоединились к экскурсии. Японский сад - частная собственность кибуца Хефзиба., и вход разрешен только при предварительной записи платной экскурсии по телефону или электронной почте.. Вот ссылка на Японский сад страница на фэйсбуке. Наш гид был:
Наама Амит и ее контактные данные gilamit.hb@bezeqint.net, 054-6634348.

Еще одна причина, чтобы присоединиться к экскурсии в том, что японские сады очень сильно отличаются от западных садов и парков. Или как Ивацуки, Зенноске, и Цутому Кодама в «Экономической ботанике» сказали: “Западные сады, как правило, оптимизированы для визуальной привлекательности в то время как японские сады моделируются с духовными и философскими идеями в виду”. Без гида, смысл потерян, и посетители не видят и не понимают всех этих идей и не могут в полной мере насладиться своим пребыванием.

Вид с парковки:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Сад находится рядом с домом Макуя (вы можете увидеть его слева вдалеке).. Сразу за садом, вы можете увидеть горы Гильбоа. А долина Харод позади нас.

Вход в Японский сад:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

История

Мы начали наше путешествие с Наама рядом с прудом. Знаете ли вы, что японские сады возникли в период Аски (около 600 г. н.э.)? В тот период, Японские купцы стали свидетелями садов, построенных в Китае, и вернули в Японию многие китайские методы и стили садоводства.. И только к периоду Эдо (около 1700), Японские сады разработали свой собственный стиль..

Японские сады создают миниатюрные идеализированные пейзажи. Кроме того, этот сад был вдохновлен Исайи 41:18-20:

Сделаю реки текут на бесплодных высот, и пружины в пределах долины. Я превращу пустыню в лужи, и сухая земля пружин. Я вложу в пустыне кедр и акация, мирт и оливковое. Я обращу можжевельник в пустоши, ель и кипарис вместе, так, чтобы люди могли видеть и знать, может рассмотреть и понять, что рука Господа сотворила сие, что Святый Израилев сотворил его.

Символизм

В саду много символики (помимо большинства растений, упомянутых в псалме выше)., и ничто не оставлено на волю случая. Давайте посмотрим на следующее фото, Например:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Вы можете увидеть в этой небольшой пруд буддистской символикой. Вода и камень являются Инь и Ян, две противоположности, которые дополняют и дополняют друг друга. Поэтому, Японские сады всегда есть вода, либо пруд или ручей или, в сухом альпинария, представлено белым песком.

Кои и красный коронованные журавли

В пруду, мы можем увидеть рыбу, особенно Кои (цветной карп) и золотая рыбка. Ты знаешь, как долго живут рыбы Кои? Вот цитата из опекун:

Возраст рыбы рассчитывается во многом так же, как один работает из возраста дерева, считая его кольца; большинство рыб имеют кольца роста на их весах, известных как annuli. Этот метод был использован для определения возраста Ханако, имея в виду “цветок горничной”, старейший в мире карп кои, который умер в 1977 в возрасте 226 лет.

По этой причине, Koi рыбы символизируют долголетие.

В пруду, Вы также можете увидеть статую двух журавлей с красными венцами, называемый также японский кран. Потому что у них красные перья на голове, некоторые говорят, что они несут флаг Японии на голове. Японские журавли - символ удачи, долговечность, и лояльность (так как они сотрудничают на всю жизнь).

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Эта металлическая подставка помогла молодому деревцу вырасти, и с годами, дерево, обернутое вокруг стенда.

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Тогда Наама рассказал нам о счастливых чисел 1,3,5,7 в японской культуре. Она рассказала о Дне защиты детей, который отмечается в 5 мая (5/5). И до недавнего времени, Танго-но-секку (оригинальный День защиты детей) был известен как «Мальчики».’ День. В сравнении, Девушки’ День был отмечен в марте 3 (3/3). А в следующем фото, Вы можете увидеть Koinobori (карп-образные носки ветра традиционно летают в Японии, чтобы отпраздновать Танго не секку).

Каменные фонари

Есть три японские каменные фонари в саду. Фонари и мост - единственные камни, привезенные из Японии (остальные местные).

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

В полной и оригинальной форме, Dai-доро, как пагоды, представляет собой пять элементов буддийской космологии. Кусок касаясь земли представляет ци, земля; следующий раздел представляет sui, или воды; ка или огонь, представлена ​​в разделе герметизирующого свет или пламя фонаря, в то время как f (воздух) и ке (пустота или дух) представлены двумя последними разделами, самый верхний и указывая на небо. Сегменты выразить мысль, что после смерти наши физические тела будут возвращаться к своему первоначальному, элементарная форма.

Источник: onmarkproductions.com

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Бамбук может расти до метра в день. Бамбук – это не деревья. Они что-то вроде травы. Чем больше мы используем их, тем меньше деревьев мы срезанные. И действительно, современная промышленность использует их не только в изделиях из дерева и бумаги, но и в производстве продуктов питания и напитков (например, в бамбуковом пиве)., случаи бамбука телефон, одежда, этажей, и многое другое.

Дом Макуя:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Вади и пещера

На фоне следующей фотографии, вы можете увидеть “трещина” в горы Гильбоа. После дождливых дней, там много воды, и члены кибуца Хефзиба называют его шоколадно-молочным вади (из-за его мутного цвета).

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Вади - это арабский и еврейский термин, традиционно относящийся к долине.. В некоторых случаях, он может относиться к сухому руслу, который содержит воду только во время сильных дождей.

Источник: Википедия

Почему я упомянулв вади? В древние времена Ставка Шеан был римский город. И евреи жили в окрестных районах. Существует не так много воды в долине. Таким образом, они построили пещеру для сбора всей воды из вади..

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Сегодня водный вход в пещеру вади закрыт., и он используется для молитв (хотя у членов Макуи нет специального места для молитв, как церкви).

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Шишиодоси - это садовое устройство из бамбука и дерева, предназначенное для отпугивания птиц.. По мере того как бамбуковая трубка заполняется водой, она захлопка против камня, порожняк, затем наполняется водой снова.

Вы можете увидеть модель shishiodoshi в саду:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Пять камней в верхнем бассейне представляют пять основных островов Японии.

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

После понимания некоторых символов, Наама показала нам подарки, которые она получила от членов Макуи, и объяснила их значение..

Тысяча журавлей-оригами

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Она рассказала нам о тысяче оригами краны. Древняя японская легенда обещает, что Боги исполнят желание любого, кто сложит тысячу журавликов-оригами.. Некоторые истории считают, что вместо одного желания вам дарована вечная удача., такие, как длительный срок службы или восстановление от болезни или травм.

Тысяча ориги краны стали популярными через историю Садако Сасаки, японская девушка, которая была 2 лет, когда она подверглась воздействию радиации (во время бомбардировки Хиросимы). Sasaki вскоре развилась лейкемия и, в возрасте 12, после того, как тратить значительное количество времени в больнице, начал делать оригами краны с целью сделать одну тысячу. Она сложила только 644 прежде, чем она стала слишком слабой, чтобы больше сбрасываться, и умерла в октябре 1955. Ее одноклассники были тронуты ее историей и выполнили задачу для нее.

Сегодня статуя Садако держит кран в Хиросиме Парк Мира, и каждый год в День Обона, люди оставляют краны на статуе в памяти духов умерших предков.

Вот как выглядят краны оригами при укладке:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Это был почти конец нашего путешествия. Тур длился чуть больше часа. И это было больше, чем посещение Японского сада.. Это был вкус Японии.

Нам понравился этот тур, и это определенно одно из тех мест, где вам нужен гид. Кроме того, Я понял от Наамы, что она ежемесячно меняет тему тура.. Таким образом, Вы можете посетить Японский сад не один раз.

Поскольку сад не большой, Вы можете объединить его с другими достопримечательностями в этой области (например, Синагога Бейт Альфа‎, Ган Гуру, и Ставка Шеан). Наама порекомендовала совершить короткую прогулку по Гильбоа., и таким образом, мы сделали.

Вы можете увидеть этот мост в парке, и ведет к тропе вдоль горы Гильбоа..

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Гильбоа след

Тропа широкая дорога и предлагает красивые живописные виды на долину. Кроме того, так как это был февраль, цветут многие деревья и цветы.

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Тропа и кибуц Гефзиба:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Листья в форме сердца:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Кибуц Хефзиба:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Мы видели много цикламенов:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Цикламен является средневековой латынью, от более ранних латинских cyclamīnos, от древнегреческих kyklāmīnos, вероятно, из Kyklos “круг”, из круглого клубня.

Источник: Википедия

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Когда мы шли, мы видели листья “родившийся”. Существовало много на разных стадиях развития, некоторые на очень предыдущих одних и других на более предварительных одних (как following).

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Карьер Хефтзиба

Еще один близлежащий пункт интереса Heftsiba карьер (это то, что знак сказал, хотя большинство мест пишут Hephzibah, а не Heftsiba). Это в пяти минутах езды от сада (поверните налево при выходе из кибуца Гефзиба и следуйте указателям).

Heftsiba Карьер открытая площадка с парковкой возле.

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

С началом Второй мировой войны, мрамор импорт из Италии остановился. “Даже и Seed” Компания (Stone and Lime на иврите) искала участок с мрамором в окрестностях кибуца.. Во время одной из поездок на “Даже и Seed” место нахождения, рабочие из Хефзибы заметили мраморную жилу на Гильбоа.. Основываясь на этом открытии, группа людей была отправлена ​​в Каррару, Италия. Они закупили оборудование для мраморного карьера и создали карьер Хефтсиба..

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Рядом с карьером, Вы можете найти это небольшое здание. Знак говорит, что это 100 Глубина метров хорошо. Скважина была создана в 1965, и он активен по сей день.

Система карьера Heftsiba была основана на кабеле диаметром 4 мм.. Трос скользил по колесам, и гири вдоль троса прижали его к камню. Поскольку этот процесс проходил, рабочие отрядили морской песок с водой на верхней части кабеля. Вот восстановление режущей системы:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Heftsiba карьер был активен из 1942 в 1952.

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Рядом с Heftsiba карьер, мы видели смотровую площадку в долине Харод. Это вид из него:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Больше цикламенов:

Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба
Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба

Это были приятные несколько часов, но было уже обеденное время, и мы проголодались. Так что пришло время ударить по дороге.

Есть несколько ресторанов в этом районе. Вы можете проверить день Даган рыбный ресторан в кибуце. Или посетите Бейт Хашита. У входа в Бейт Хашита, есть газовая станция. Прикрепленный к заправочной станции, есть небольшой центр с несколькими ресторанами. Если хотите продолжить японскую тему, затем есть бар лапши Якинтон. Обедали в ресторане Tur’ani., который предлагает довольно хорошие блюда ближневосточной кухни.

Это все на сегодня, и мы увидимся в будущих путешествиях!

Будьте на связи!

Отказ от ответственности: Наама пригласила меня в Японский сад, чтобы я написал статью о саду.. Я присоединился к настоящему туру, и высказанные мнения являются моими собственными.

   

Дополнительные ресурсы

Вот несколько ресурсов, которые я создал, чтобы помочь путешественникам: И если у вас есть какие-либо вопросы, то проверить Полезная Информация Для Туристов В Израиль.  
Не нашли то, что вы искали? Оставьте комментарий ниже, и я сделаю все возможное, чтобы ответить на ваши вопросы.

Лев Цимблер

Лев из israel-in-photos.com. Вы можете связаться со мной по hi@israel-in-photos.com

Одна мысль на “Японский сад в кибуце Хефзиба – Путеводитель

  1. Я не то, что большая часть читателей Интернет для
    быть честным, но ваш сайт действительно хороший, держать его! Я пойду вперед и закладки вашего сайта
    вернуться на дороге. Большое спасибо

Оставьте ответ

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован.

Недавние Посты

ссылка на лесной парк Шохам - Путеводитель (Карта, Тропы, и многое другое)

Лесной парк Шохам - Путеводитель (Карта, Тропы, и многое другое)

В лесопарке Шохам в центре Израиля есть места для пикника, природные тропы (особенно во время цветения), церковь Бахуса, и многое другое. карта Лесопарк Шохам расположен между дорогой #6 а также...

ссылка на Тель Гезер - Путеводитель (Карта, Тропы, и многое другое)

Тель Гезер - Путеводитель (Карта, Тропы, и многое другое)

Тель Гезер, на полпути между Тель-Авивом и Иерусалимом, является одним из самых важных библейских мест в Израиле, и вы можете исследовать его, используя тропу. карта Национальный парк Тель-Гезер расположен недалеко от дорог..

Note: Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah is a private garden and you can visit it only by pre-booking a tour. See contact details below.

Last Saturday we joined a guided tour in Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah. You might be thinking what a traditional Japanese Garden has to do with Kibbutz Hephzibah. Well, this small and well-kept garden was founded by the Japanese Makuya religious movement.

Makuya

Makuya, also called Makuya of Christ and based at the Tokyo Bible Seminary, is a religious movement in Japan founded in 1948 by Ikurō Teshima. To grasp the inner truth of Biblical religion, or the “Love of the Holy Spirit” as Teshima puts it, and to extol this existential love by embodying it and living accordingly is the essence of the Makuyas’ religious life. They are fervently identified with the cause of Israel, conceiving the establishment of the State of Israel and the unification of Jerusalem as essentially a fulfillment of biblical prophecies.

Source: Wikipedia

As mentioned above, Makuya members are Christian, and since Christianity originates from Judaism, they see a value in studying Judaism and learning Hebrew, and one of the ultimate goals is to read the Bible in Hebrew. They also see an utmost importance in nurturing relations with the State of Israel.
The members of this religious movement also identify with the values of the Israeli kibbutz movement, this explains the location of the garden.

Usually, Makuya members come to the Kibbutz for several months each year and they learn Hebrew in Ulpan (institute or school for the intensive study of Hebrew language).

Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

The Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah was designed by Yohachi Gotto, gardener artist and a member of Makuya in 1975, in memory of Ikurō Teshima (Makuya founder).

As I wrote in the beginning, we joined a guided tour. Japanese Garden is a private property of Kibbutz Hephzibah and entrance is authorized only by setting up a paid guided tour upfront by phone or email. Here is a link to Japanese Garden Facebook page. Our guide was:
Naama Amit and her contact details are gilamit.hb@bezeqint.net, 054-6634348.

Another reason to join a guided tour is that Japanese Gardens are very different from Western gardens and parks. Or as Iwatsuki, Zennoske, and Tsutomu Kodama in Economic Botany said: “Western gardens are typically optimized for visual appeal while Japanese gardens are modeled with spiritual and philosophical ideas in mind”. Without a guide, the meaning is lost and the visitors do not see or grasp all those ideas and cannot fully enjoy their stay.

The view from the parking lot:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

The garden is located next to Makuya house (you can see it on the left in the distance). Just behind the gardens, you can see Mount Gilboa. And Harod Valley is behind us.

Entrance to the Japanese Garden:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Some History

We started our tour with Naama next to the pond. Did you know that Japanese Gardens started at Asuka period (around 600AD)? During that period Japanese merchants witnessed gardens built in China and brought many Chinese gardening techniques and styles back to Japan. And only by Edo period (around 1700), Japanese gardens developed a distinct style of its own.

Japanese gardens create miniature idealized landscapes. Moreover, this garden was inspired by Isaiah 41:18-20:

I will make rivers flow on barren heights, and springs within the valleys. I will turn the desert into pools of water, and the parched ground into springs. I will put in the desert the cedar and the acacia, the myrtle and the olive. I will set junipers in the wasteland, the fir and the cypress together, so that people may see and know, may consider and understand, that the hand of the LORD has done this, that the Holy One of Israel has created it.

Symbolism

The garden has a lot of symbolism (besides having most of the plants as mentioned in the psalm above) and nothing is left to chance. Let’s look at the next photo for example:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

You can see in this small pond Buddhist symbolism. Water and stone are the Yin and Yang, two opposites that complement and complete each other. Therefore, Japanese gardens always have water, either a pond or stream or, in the dry rock garden, represented by white sand.

Koi and Red-Crowned Cranes

In the pond, we can see fish, particularly Koi (colored carp) and goldfish. Do you know how long Koi fish live? Here is a quote from the the guardian:

The age of a fish is calculated in much the same way as one works out the age of a tree by counting its rings; most fish have growth rings on their scales known as annuli. This technique was used to estimate the age of Hanako, meaning “flower maid”, the world’s oldest koi carp, who died in 1977 at the age of 226 years.

For that reason, Koi fish symbolize longevity.

In the pond you can also see a statue of two red-crowned cranes, also called the Japanese crane. Because they have red feathers on their heads, some say that they carry Japan’s flag on their head. Japanese cranes are known as a symbol of luck, longevity, and loyalty (since they have partnered for life).

This metal stand helped the young tree to grow and over the years, the tree wrapped around the stand.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Then Naama told us about the lucky numbers 1,3,5,7 in Japanese culture. She talked about Children’s Day that is celebrated on 5 of May (5/5). And until recently, Tango no sekku (original Children’s Day) was known as Boys’ Day. While Girls’ Day was celebrated on March 3 (3/3). And in the next photo, you can see Koinobori (carp-shaped wind socks traditionally flown in Japan to celebrate Tango no sekku).
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Stone Lanterns

There are three Japanese stone lanterns in the garden. The lanterns and the bridge are the only stones brought from Japan (the rest are local ones).

In its complete and original form, a dai-doro, like the pagoda, represents the five elements of Buddhist cosmology. The piece touching the ground represents chi, the earth; the next section represents sui, or water; ka or fire, is represented by the section encasing the lantern’s light or flame, while fū (air) and kū (void or spirit) are represented by the last two sections, top-most and pointing towards the sky. The segments express the idea that after death our physical bodies will go back to their original, elemental form.

Source: onmarkproductions.com
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Bamboo can grow up to a meter a day. Bamboos are not trees, they are a kind of grass. The more we use them, the fewer trees we cut. And indeed, modern industry uses them not only in wood and paper products but in food and beverage industry (like bamboo Beer), bamboo phone cases, clothing, floors and much more.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Makuya house:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

The Wadi And The Cave

In the background of the next photograph, you can see a “crack” in Gilboa mountain. After rainy days a lot of water flows there and members of Kibbutz Hephzibah call it chocolate milk wadi (due to its muddy color).

Wadi is the Arabic and Hebrew term traditionally referring to a valley. In some instances, it may refer to a dry riverbed that contains water only during times of heavy rain.

Source: Wikipedia
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Why did I mention the wadi? In ancient times Bet She’an was a Roman city. And Jews lived in the surrounding areas. There is not much water in the valley, thus they constructed a cave to collect all water from the wadi.

Today wadi’s water entrance to the cave is closed and it is used for praying (though Makuya members don’t have a dedicated praying place, like churches).
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

A shishiodoshi is a garden device, made of bamboo and wood, designed to scare away birds. As the bamboo tube fills with water, it clacks against a stone, empties, then fills with water again.

You can see a model of a shishiodoshi in the garden:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

The five stones in the upper pool represent Japan’s five main islands.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

After understanding some of the symbols Naama showed us gifts she received from Makuya members and explained their meaning.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Thousand Origami Cranes

She told us about one thousand origami cranes. An ancient Japanese legend promises that anyone who folds a thousand origami cranes will be granted a wish by the Gods. Some stories believe you are granted eternal good luck, instead of just one wish, such as long life or recovery from illness or injury.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

One thousand origami cranes became popular through the story of Sadako Sasaki, a Japanese girl who was 2 years old when she was exposed to radiation (during the bombing of Hiroshima). Sasaki soon developed leukemia and, at age 12 after spending a significant amount of time in a hospital, began making origami cranes with the goal of making one thousand. She folded only 644 before she became too weak to fold anymore, and died on October 1955. Her classmates were touched by her story and completed the task for her.

Today there is a statue of Sadako holding a crane in the Hiroshima Peace Park, and every year on Obon day, people leave cranes at the statue in memory of the departed spirits of their ancestors.

This is how origami cranes look like when stacked:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

This was almost the end of our tour. The tour lasted a little more than an hour. And it was more than a visit to Japanese Garden, it was a taste of Japan.

We enjoyed this tour and it’s definitely one of those places where you need a guide. Moreover, I understood from Naama that she changes the topic of the tour on a monthly basis. Thus, you can visit Japanese Garden more than once.

Since the garden is not big, you can combine it with other attractions in this area (like Bet Alfa Synagogue‎, Gan Garoo and Bet She’an). Naama recommended a short hike along the Gilboa and so we did.

In the park, you can see this bridge and it leads to a trail along Gilboa mountain.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Gilboa trail

The trail is a wide road and offers nice scenic views of the valley. Moreover, since it’s February, many trees, and flowers bloom.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

The trail and Kibbutz Hephzibah:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Heart-shaped leaves:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Kibbutz Hephzibah:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

We saw many Cyclamens:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Cyclamen is Medieval Latin, from earlier Latin cyclamīnos, from Ancient Greek kyklā́mīnos, probably from kýklos “circle”, because of the round tuber.

Source: Wikipedia
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

As we walked we saw leaves being “born”. There were many at different stages of development, some on very early ones and others on more advanced ones (like the following).
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Heftsiba Quarry

Another nearby point of interest is Heftsiba Quarry (this is what the sign said, though most places write Hephzibah and not Heftsiba). It’s five minutes drive from the garden (turn left when exiting Kibbutz Hephzibah and follow the signs).

Heftsiba Quarry is an open site with nearby parking.

With the start of the Second World War, marble import from Italy stopped. “Even and Seed” (Stone and Lime in Hebrew) company looked for a site with marble in the vicinity of the kibbutz. Workers from Hephzibah, during one of the rides to “Even and Seed” location, noticed marble lode exposed on Gilboa. Based on this discovery a group of people was sent to Carrara, Italy. They bought equipment for marble quarry and created Heftsiba Quarry.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Close to the quarry, you can find this small building. The sign says that it’s a 100 meters depth well. The well was created in 1965 and it’s active till this day.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Heftsiba Quarry system was based on 4mm cable. The cable slid along wheels and weights along the cable pressed it down towards the stone. As this process took place, workers put sea sand with water on the top of the cable. Here is a restoration of the cutting system:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Heftsiba Quarry was active from 1942 till 1952.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

Close to Heftsiba Quarry, we saw Harod Valley lookout. This is the view from it:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

More Cyclamens:
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

These were enjoyable several hours, but it was already lunch time and we were getting hungry. So it was time to hit the road.
Japanese Garden at Kibbutz Hephzibah

There are several dining options in the area. You can check out Dag Dagan fish restaurant in the Kibbutz. Or visit Beit Hashita. At the entrance to Beit Hashita there is a gas station. Attached to the gas station, there is a small center with several restaurants. If you want to continue the Japanese theme then there is Yakinton nudels bar. We dined at Tur’ani restaurant which offers pretty good middle eastern dishes.

That’s all for today and I’ll see you in future travels!

Stay Tuned!

 

Disclaimer: I was invited to Japanese Garden by Naama in order to write a post about the garden. I joined a real tour and the expressed opinions are my own.

Did not find what you were looking for? Hit me up at hi@israel-in-photos.com, and I will do my best to answer your questions.

You may also like

One thought on ““The secrert of the Japanese Garden” at Kibbutz Hephzibah”

  1. I’m not that much of a internet reader to
    be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website
    to come back down the road. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × 5 =